Robert Burns Memorial CairnA new Burns memorial cairn was built in 2023 the cairn provides a safe home for the original plaque.

The cairn pays tribute to Adam Christie, a patient at Sunnyside, who carved a stone plaque in 1930 to commemorate the spot where Burns stopped to water his horse in 1787 as well as containing a new sculpture done in the style of Adam Christie. Keep checking our site for updates.

The Gentle Shetlander song about Adam Christie by Dave Ramsay –   Click To Play

This has been our most recent project in the creation of our Burns Trail which we expect to become a major tourist attraction in the area.

Visit This Page for More Information


We are grateful to the following for their support.

Andy Baxter

Angus Council Parks Dept

Angus County Press

Arbikie Distillery

Brian Doig – Builder Arbroath

Brian Wyllie – Sculptor

Crawford Architects – David Paton

D.C.Thomson & Co Ltd – Graham Brown

Dave Clark

Dave Ramsay B.E.M.

Eck & Beryl Whitton – Carmyllie Heritage Society

Ex Provost of Angus – Ronnie Proctor

Ex Provost of Kincardineshire – Bill Howatson

Frank & Ruth Ferguson

Friends of Rosemount – Tony Smith

Friends of William Lamb Studios

Graeme Newton

Hamish & Jennifer Keddie

Hillside and Dun Community Council

Jamie Pert

Joan Christie – Author of “Fit ever next”

Kevin Ramsay

Lord Lieutenant Angus – Mrs Patricia Sawers

Lord Lieutenant Kincardineshire – Mr Alisdair Macphie

Lord Lyon – Dr Joseph Morrow

Mairi Gougeon MSP

Mhairi Ramsay & Alex Orr

Montrose Common Good Fund – Cllrs Braes, Duff, Gall, Stewart and Rhonda McFarlane

Montrose Museum / Angus Alive

Nick Bradford

Pat Christie

Peter Black

Peter Christie

Peter Stuart

Peter Wood

President Robert Burns World Federation – Neil McNair

Provost of Angus – Brian Boyd

Ron & Marjory Stephen

Ross Thomson

Sunnyside Estates Ltd – Craig Bruce and Scott Ritchie

Tay FM – Dale Eaton

Tom Brighton

Tom Murray


Alisdair Macdonald

Anne Cuthill

Anne Wylie

Arbikie Distillery

Arbikie distillery

Arbroath Burns Club

Auchenblae Friendship Group

Carmyllie Heritage Society

Cathy Braes

Christine Taylor & partner Steve

Cy Wyper

Dale Eaton

Dave Clark

Dave Ramsay B.E.M.

Denise Stewart

Derek Addison

Doug Smith

Duncan Clark

East Coast Viners

Emslie Collier Funeral Directors

Eric Ladbrook

Eric Morris

Graeme Newton

Graeme Newton

Grand Lodge of Forfarshire

Harry Maiden Limited

Ian Shirlaw

Jamie Pert

Jamie Pert

Joan Christie

Joan Christie

John Hayes

Julia Morton

Just Giving Crowdfunding

Kenny Braes

Kenny Braes

Kevin Ramsay

Laurie Stewart

Len Mackay

Liz Bradley

Macphie’s of Glenbervie

Marilyn Sharp

Mark Bradley

Mhairi Ramsay & Alex Orr

Monifieth 41 Club

Montrose Common Good Fund

Montrose Inner Wheel

Montrose Port Authority

Montrose Probus

Montrose Probus Club


Orbit Communications Edinburgh

Peter Ladbrook

Peter Stuart

Peter Taylor

Peter Wood

Radio Tay FM

Ronnie Proctor

Ross Thomson

Steph Smith

Stonehaven Fatherland Burns Club (Memorial fund)

Tom Brighton

Tom Moore

Tom Murray

U3A Arbroath

Upper Dysart Larder



Our Featured Sponsors